Breakfast/Brunch Favorites / Los Angeles County

CAMILO’S BISTRO | Serves Up Breakfast in Eagle Rock

Lately, I’ve been into breakfast food. Not sure why but the thought of enjoying breakfast at any time of the day, and not just before 12 noon is comforting. Of course, there is the danger of carb coma settling in if I decide to indulge in pancakes or french toast but I think it’s worth the risk!

I scheduled a business lunch with a co-worker earlier in the week and we had settled on Camilo’s Bistro in the Los Angeles suburb of Eagle Rock, just shy of Pasadena. Camilo’s is a favorite among my fellow co-workers and not far from my office. They serve up California, French and Latin American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  I was going to order their salmon salad, a favorite of mine on their menu until I spied the breakfast offerings under the Pancakes & French Toast offerings. And the minute I read the description for the Bread Pudding French Toast ($9.95), I knew right then and there I was having breakfast for lunch. Well, it was a toss up between that or the Brioche French Toast ($7.95) (dipped in Grand Marnier batter) but it had me at bread pudding and I was immediately hooked. I ordered a side of sausage links too ($2.50) to round out the breakfast experience.

It arrived beautifully plated–three, one-inch thick slices of bread pudding, french-toast style with a light dusting of powdered sugar and crowned with fresh strawberries and thinly sliced granny smith apples. I picked up one to move it to the size and was surprised at how “heavy” (as in dense in weight) it was and I began to think that I may just slip into a carb coma but once I sliced into it and tried that first bite–well, you know that saying that looks can be deceiving? In this case, it was definitely not what I expected. It was incredibly light, creamy yet firm in texture, and had the perfect combination of sweetness from the raisins and cinnamon. I lightly drizzled syrup over the toast (I’m not one to drown my french toast or pancakes for that matter in syrup). I wanted to make sure that I was able to taste and savor every bite! I was in breakfast heaven. The sausage links (2) were generously sized and complimented the french toast. It was the perfect lunch!

In addition to pancakes and french toast, Camilo’s also offers omelettes and frittatas; south of the border breakfast classics such as Huevos Rancheros and Chilaquiles con Huevos; steak and eggs and even oatmeal!

I’ve been to Camilo’s several times and was never disappointed in the quality and preparation of their food and their exemplary service. Chef Camilo himself, gracious and warm, interacts effortlessly with his diners, many of whom are faithful patrons of this friendly, neighborhood restaurant. The ambiance and decor of the restaurant is unique and inviting and they offer seating outside if you want to dine al fresco. Parking is available in the back but limited but there are plenty of metered street parking on Colorado Boulevard and on their cross street Caspar.

CAMILO’S CALIFORNIA BISTRO
2128 Colorado Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA  90041
323.478.2644
Website: www.camilobistro.com  (website is currently under construction)

One thought on “CAMILO’S BISTRO | Serves Up Breakfast in Eagle Rock

  1. Hi,

    I wanted to send you an email about a food event but couldn’t find your contact info on this site. Would you mind sending me an email at the email address above?

    Thank you!
    Anne

Leave a Reply

