Afternoon Tea/Coffee / Los Angeles County

LITTLE NEXT DOOR | West Hollywood, CA

I haven’t posted in quite awhile, deciding to take a break during the holidays and recovering from a number of winter time maladies (cold, flu, sinus infection, ear infection, borderline bronchitis). I didn’t catch these all at the same time but everytime I got over one, I picked up another! I’m much better now, however, am now dealing with seasonal allergies! Trying to take it all in stride and not let it slow me down. Just gotta make sure that I steer clear of antihistamines during the day (they knock me out)!

So this is my first post of 2011! Happy belated New Year everyone. I hope that everyone had a fantastic holiday. I was looking over my iPhoto library yesterday and itching to work on a new blog post. One thing stood out while I was perusing photos…I sure do eat out a lot! I have so much material to work with, I can blog for days! That being said, I decided to start with a gem that I fell in love with when I stepped through its doors.

I heard about Little Next Door from a co-worker of mine who received as a treat a “juiced up oreo cookie” during the holidays. Knowing that I write a food blog, he asked me if I’ve heard of the restaurant, which of course I hadn’t. I immediately put it on my “to check out list whenever I get a spare moment or if I was in neighborhood”. Well, that moment came yesterday while out on another gourmet food truck launch earlier in the day. Little Next Door was about five miles west on West 3rd Street and Crescent Heights, within viewing distance of the Beverly Center. And I wanted to check out their “juiced up oreos” and whatever sweets caught my eye.

Little Next Door is on busy West 3rd Street amongst cute shops and restaurants. We quickly found metered parking on street (shocking since it was 3:30pm and there was a bit of traffic from people driving to and fro from busy La Cienega and Fairfax). General valet parking is available right in front of the restaurant if you want to save yourself the headache from trying to find parking yourself and can spare a few extra bucks.

The restaurant itself is a little French deli and cafe with outdoor, covered seating which is probably as close to eating sidewalk cafe French-style (and on a beautiful day like yesterday, perfect!); and seating in the main dining area. There was a touch of chill in the air so I opted to sit inside, in front of the beautiful French pastries and desserts.

The restaurant also boasts an artisan marketplace which includes a variety of their house made jams, perfect for gift giving and a large selection of wines around the world.  Everything is made from fresh, local, organic ingredients.  Their lunch menu includes appetizers, deli salads, omelettes, full-size salads (you can add grilled chicken or grilled organic salmon for an additional $4), artisan sandwiches and hot gourmet sandwiches, lunch entrees (the Moules Frites, creamy white wine and shallot steamed mussels with pommes frites caught my eye) and sides, and specialties such as Duck Foie Gras Torchon with port reduction and brioche toast and the Artisan Cheese Plate, which includes the chef’s selection of artisan cheeses with condiments and bread–perfect to go with any of the wines offered in their vast selection.

Their dinner menu is just as mouth-watering.  In addition to the appetizers and salads, entrees include a Boeuf Carottes, braised sirloin beef in red wine sauce, carrots and onions with fettucine; and Roasted Saffron Salmon on a bed of basmati rice and steamed asparagus.

My hubby and I were there for dessert and coffee and I was like a kid in a candy store and my face was almost pressed against the glass while I checked out the beautiful desserts, too perfect to eat in The Pastry Shop.  I settled on the Pot de Creme, chocolate pudding creme with salted caramel and figs and a vanilla latte.  Hubby ordered the Flourless Chocolate Cake made with Valrhona chocolate and a mocha.

 

The Pot de Creme was heavenly but sweet. I would have preferred less caramel sauce on top but overall, I enjoyed it and I thought the figs were a nice touch.

Hubby’s Flourless Chocolate Cake was sinfully good.  The cake wasn’t as sweet as my Pot de Creme and the Valrhona chocolate was perfect!

Here are a few more of their desserts and pastries:

And the “juiced up” oreos (I bought a few to enjoy at home):

Little Next Door also serves brunch on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, from 8am to 4pm.  If you want to check them out with your special someone, they are offering Valentine’s Weekend Specials from Friday, February 11th through Sunday, February 13th and a special Valentine’s Day Dinner Menu on Monday, February 14th ($60 per person with a glass of Cremant).  For reservations and Valentine’s Gift Basket Orders, call 323.951.1010.

If you’re ever in the West Hollywood area, I urge you to try Little Next Door.  It’s the perfect place to unwind before and after your shopping excursion, and a great place to get together with friends for brunch or wine and cheese in the afternoon. Looking forward to eating my way through their menu!

LITTLE NEXT DOOR
8142 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, California  90048
Phone: 323.951.1010
Website & Menu: www.littlenextdoor.com
Follow them on Twitter: @LittleNextDoor

One thought on “LITTLE NEXT DOOR | West Hollywood, CA

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention LITTLE NEXT DOOR | West Hollywood, CA « THE PRINCESS GOURMET -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

