Afternoon Tea/Coffee / Los Angeles County

LOFT CAFE | A Cozy Coffeehouse in Koreatown

Cafe Loft, Corner of 6th & Oxford in Los Angeles

I can’t tell you how many times I have driven by this place. I actually noticed it a few months ago. Hubby was driving and I couldn’t tell what it was when we sped by it. It looked pretty cool from the outside and I made a note of it and the cross streets so that I can check it out at a later date.

I got my chance when a friend of hubby’s flew in from out of town on a short visit. We had just had dinner at a nearby Korean BBQ restaurant and his friend suggested going to either Pinkberry for dessert or, a place that serves coffee and dessert where we can hang out and catch up. I opted for the latter (I’m not a big fan of Pinkberry). I was focused on following my hubby and friend in my car (we all drove separate cars) and didn’t notice that we had driven by the Loft Cafe. Once we parked, hubby pointed out that I had wanted to try this place. He pointed in the direction of the coffeehouse and that’s when the light bulb went on in my head!

Inside the Loft Cafe

I was struck by the warm ambiance of the place as we walked in. There was cafe style seating throughout the space and comfy banquette seating complete with pillows. Large windows flanked by full, billowy curtains, tiny white Christmas lights, large mirrors hung at an angle, and a non-working fireplace also added to the charm of the place. There were customers quietly reading or working on their laptops (they provide free wi-fi) and I noticed that they also offered patio seating in the back of the coffeehouse as well as additional seating upstairs. Music was quietly playing in the background and there was a well lit glass case displaying Lady Jane’s cakes. I immediately fell in love with the coffeehouse.

Soy Hazelnut Latte and Chocolate/White Chocolate Chunk Cookie

Soy Hazelnut Latte & Tiramisu

Lady Jane's Red Velvet Cake w/ Cream Cheese Icing

Hot Chocolate

They not only offer tea, coffee and a variety of desserts but also shaved ice as well.  It’s a great place to gather with friends and hang out, have dessert and coffee after dinner at one of the many restaurants in the area or to do a bit of web surfing or studying. It is a bit pricier than Starbucks but it’s totally worth it.

LOFT CAFE
3882 West 6th Street
Corner of Oxford & 6th Streets, north of Wilshire
Los Angeles, CA  90020
Phone: 213.383.3006


5 thoughts on “LOFT CAFE | A Cozy Coffeehouse in Koreatown

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention LOFT CAFE | A Cozy Coffeehouse in Koreatown « THE PRINCESS GOURMET -- Topsy.com

  2. Loft is also a great place to shoot pix during the day time. Unfortunately, it suffers from the same prob as other Ktown “ambiance cafes”: horrible coffee priced as if Ktown is Shanghai, ie, $4 for coffee, $6 for cap, etc.

    Nonetheless, it’s cute as heck, and great for those days when you have some extra change in your pocket and want to enjoy a lovely atmosphere. Sanjang was the “Ktown ambiance cafe” of my choice until they switched to a full bar/food menu.

Leave a Reply

