Los Angeles County

SWEET EVERYTHING AT BOTTEGA LOUIE

Macarons anyone?

Did I mention that Bottega Louis also boasts a Gourmet Market inside their restaurant? Talk about eye candy and satisfying your sweet tooth. You can’t help but get drawn into such a beautiful space displaying the most artful and creative gourmet foods and patisserie. Even their packaging is beautiful and adds a special touch. As mentioned in my previous post, I came here specifically for the macarons but I discovered when I checked their website, that they were also offering an exclusive Halloween cupcake: Chocolate Cupcakes filled with salted caramel and topped with vanilla buttercream. They had me at chocolate but when I read salted caramel, I was totally hooked and that’s what sealed the deal for me. I was going to Bottega Louie, come hell or high water!

A lovely display of macarons greets you when you walk through the front door of Bottega Louie.

After a filling and delicious brunch, my mind turned to the patisserie and all the treasures it held. I couldn’t wait to see what sweets would beckon me to take them home. I felt like a kid in a candy store. I had to keep reminding myself that I had a wedding to go to in a few short weeks and I couldn’t overindulge or I wouldn’t be able to fit in the dress that I bought for the ocassion. LOL!

Now that's a lot of eclairs!

I focused on the macarons were first. When you first walk into the restaurant, you are greeted by these small, round, delicate filled “cookies”. I can’t think of a better description so I humbly apologize. There were many flavors to choose from and I zeroed in on the pumpkin macarons. They were perfectly sweet, slightly chewy and filled with pumpkin goodness. Soooo good!  Good enough for me to spend $22 for 11 of these babies! Yikes!

Pumpkin Macarons!

Macarons for their size can be a bit pricey. If you consider the time and effort that goes into making these delicate treasures, you can get a better appreciation for why it’s on the high side. I’ve seen macarons being made and while I consider myself a good cook and baker, I don’t think that I would have the patience or the steady hand to try and create a perfect macaron many times over. I’m content with just buying them when the craving strikes. Yes, a bit of indulgence, I know. In addition to the large box of pumpkin macarons, I also ordered the smaller box (4 macarons for $9) of 2 gingerbread and 2 caramel macarons. All for research for my blog, of course! LOL!

Caramel and Gingerbread Macarons

Artfully creative desserts too beautiful to eat.

I ordered one Chocolate Cupcake filled with salted caramel and topped with vanilla buttercream. I was chanting this on the way to the restaurant. LOL! I have a love affair with anything paired with salted caramel and this spoke to me on so many different levels. This was Bottega Louie’s exclusive cupcake for Halloween. Frankly, they should serve it everyday! Actually, no. That would be bad for my waistline. But then again, you only live once, right? And after eating this wonderfully sinful cupcake, I was kicking myself for not ordering two!

Oh yeah...Chocolate Cupcake FILLED with salted caramel and topped with vanilla buttercream. It's "dusted" with sugar crystals for texture and color.

I wanted to try one of their regular cupcakes and opted for their Vanilla Cupcake. So moist, light and airy…was I really eating a cupcake? The frosting was equally light and airy, not overly sweet or cloying. You can tell they use real vanila bean as you can see the delicate black flecks throughout the cake. This cupcake blew me away (well, a close second to the Chocolate). I just couldn’t get over how light this cupcake was. And then I realized how very dangerous these cupcakes could be. I’d call these creeper cupcakes–be warned. Overindulging can cause you to go up one size up! Hmm…I guess I better start hitting the gym…

Beautiful cupcakes waiting to be enjoyed.

Cookies and Croissants

It’s a good thing this restaurant/gourmet market is in Downtown L.A. I think I’d be in big trouble if it were in my neighborhood. Come and check them out. And try a macaron or two.

BOTTEGA LOUIE
700 South Grand Avenue (at 7th Street)
Los Angeles, CA   90017
(213) 802-1470 Phone
Website: www.bottegalouie.com

10 thoughts on “SWEET EVERYTHING AT BOTTEGA LOUIE

  1. OMG!!!! I heard so much about this MACRON Craze! I am definitely going! Is this the only place to get these Macarons? Any other place aside from DT LA? Please advise Princess Gourmet! Keep up the great job!!! Cheers

    • LOL! No, this isn’t the only place to get Macarons but their pumpkin is DA BOMB! You can also pick up these delicate treats from Paulette’s in Little Tokyo (they also have a store in Beverly Hills), and Intelligentsia Coffee in Pasadena. I’m sure there are other patisserie’s and gourmet bakeries that carry them in L.A. My other favorite place to go for Macarons is Miette’s in San Francisco. Hope you get to try them. Let me know what you think! 🙂

  2. I live in OC and thinking of checking out this place next time I am in L.A. or a friend of mine who lives in L.A. is coming to visit so I might have to beg her to bring me something from here 🙂

    I’m such a dessert gal, this place could be heaven for me

    • It’s like stepping into a fairy tale world of fine patisseries. It’s Tiffany’s for dessert lovers. And it’s worth a trip from the OC. Macarons are my favorite but their cupcakes are heavenly! If you do go, let me know what you think. Enjoy your week! 🙂

  3. Downtown is full of hidden gems! All these look absolutely stunning! Ever been to Porto’s in Glendale? Wondering how they compare. I guess I’ll have to find out myself! Thanks for the gorgeous pics!

    • I love Porto’s (been to both Glendale AND Burbank). As far as how they stack up in comparison, it’s like comparing apples to orange–in my opinion, I don’t feel that one is better than the other. I enjoy them both. You’ll have to give them both a try. I’d be interested to hear what you think. Glad you enjoyed the post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

