Afternoon Tea/Coffee / Blogapalooza 2010

PANABAR SERVES UP AN AWESOME CUP ‘O JOE!

Iced Hazelnut Latte

I am one of those fortunate individuals where one of the ‘perks’ at work is free coffee. Okay, most offices provide free coffee to its 9 to 5ers so what’s the big deal you might ask? Well, in my case, my employer has its own coffee bar, The Panabar, complete with a full-time barista on staff that serves up cappuccinos, lattes, mochas and even lemonade and iced tea! And if you’re a purist, they also have on hand tall, self-serve carafes of black coffee (caffeinated and decaf). And the best part is that all the coffee is FREE!

It’s a pretty popular hangout, not only for our employees but for our customers as well. We have this cool mural on the wall that frames the coffee bar with scenes from Casablanca. The bar overlooks our Prep Floor and our onsite retail store, the Panastore. Today, I was going to get my usual double shot mocha with extra steamed milk and while walking over to the bar, my co-workers and I got into a discussion on coffee. Sharon gave high marks on the iced latte and really praised our barista for the way he prepares it. I love iced lattes so I thought I’d give it a try.

Fortunately, there wasn’t a line at the Panabar and I ordered the iced latte. I also asked if he had flavored syrups, hazelnut in particular and he said yes. The coffee gods are truly shining down on me now! I took that first sip and it was absolutely delish. Ice cold, three shots of hazelnut syrup and smooth coffee flavor—perfect!

My normal coffee quota is one cup a day whether it’s hot or cold. But I think today, I’ll make an exception, in celebration of Blogapalooza. Looks like I’m going to need another hit!

Leave a Reply

