Los Angeles County

CHOCOHOLICS: Larchmont Village/Los Angeles, CA

I happened upon Chocoholics while walking through Larchmont Village on my way to a nearby restaurant for lunch. The “Cupcakes” sign caught my eye (and why wouldn’t it) and I decided to check it out on my way back to the car. I made sure that I ate light enough to make room for dessert.

It’s a cute little shop which specializes in–you guessed it, chocolates! Specifically Belgian chocolates and other sweet treats but I was there for the cupcakes. I went to the back of the shop where the cupcakes were displayed. They offered the average sized cupcakes and the mini cupcakes in a variety of different flavors. Steve was kind enough to give me the breakdown of cupcakes available for the day.  They all sounded so yummy but I knew I wanted to try something different.

I selected the Pineapple Upside Down Cupcake, one of my favorite dessert cakes and was curious to see how it would be interpreted into a cupcake. I asked Steve if they actually baked them on site and he told me unfortunately, no but, they had evaluated a number of cup cake bakers and selected the one baker whose creations would give Crumbs across the street a run for their money. I’ve actually had Crumbs’ cupcakes and while they are good, they are a bit pricey. Crumbs’ Red Velvet cupcake is one of their top sellers so I had to ask Steve what cupcake is most popular with their customers and the answer surprised me. It was their Blueberry Cupcake! Well, I wanted to try it too so I got the mini-sized blueberry cupcake to also enjoy with my Vanilla Latte from Peet’s Coffee & Tea across the street.

I couldn’t wait to try my cupcakes. The Pineapple Upside Down Cupcake, was moist and in addition to the pineapple, the cupcake had a hint of cherry. I especially liked the vanilla frosting with the simple marachino cherry garnish on top which added a bit of color. Both the frosting and the cake was not too sweet. It was simply perfect!

The Blueberry Cupcake was awesome. The cake was a purplish-violet hue and was studded with fresh blueberries baked into the cake. A simple swirl of vanilla frosting garnished with a single fresh blueberry completed the cupcake. Again, not too sweet. It was just right!

CHOCOHOLICS
Larchmont Village
201 North Larchmont
Los Angeles, CA 90004
323.860.7966

2 thoughts on “CHOCOHOLICS: Larchmont Village/Los Angeles, CA

  1. Thanks for the great introduction to Chocoholics. I am one and live fairly close so now that I know it’s there, I will be stopping by! I have a pineapple upside down pancake recipe on my blog that you may like! 🙂

Leave a Reply

