Los Angeles County

IT’S ALL ABOUT THE CUPCAKES: AUNTIE EM’S KITCHEN

I love cupcakes. Mini cakes in paper liners that can be polished off in a few blissful bites. If you’re torn between flavors, you can order more than one to satisfy your sweet cravings. I’m a fan of Sprinkles cupcakes and was in the mood to try something different. I’ve been hearing a lot about Auntie Em’s Kitchen and their Red Velvet Cupcakes. I’m a big fan of red velvet anything and I was really looking forward to trying Auntie Em’s interpretation.

Auntie Em’s is located in the city of Eagle Rock, not far from Downtown L.A. In addition to cupcakes, Auntie Em’s also offers other bakery selections that change daily such as pies, crisps, muffins, cakes, scones and bars. Everything is baked from scratch! My first visit was strictly for the cupcakes and on this particular Saturday they had four different cupcakes available in both the small and large sizes—red velvet, coconut, carrot cake and strawberry. They all looked so good so I decided, what the heck, I’ll order one of each in the large size. While my order was  being packaged up, they asked me if I wanted to try their chocolate cupcake which was not on display and I said yes! I was wondering why they were absent in the display case but I wasn’t going to question it.

I was so excited to take my sweet treasures home. I took them out of the white box and carefully placed them on one of my serving platters. They were all crowned generously with frosting. They were indeed works of art and I was looking forward to trying each and every one of them!

Coconut Cupcake

I knew that I couldn’t eat them in one sitting so I took my time and decided to start my cupcake taste test with the Coconut Cupcake with loads of Cream Cheese Frosting and covered in fresh coconut. The cake had a hint of spice and there definitely was coconut baked in. I’m a big fan of coconut and this one was a winner for me. And I liked the fact that it wasn’t too cloying.

Red Velvet Cupcake

I tried the Red Velvet with Cream Cheese Frosting next. I really wanted to save it for last but it was calling my name and I had to try it. The cake was a beautiful, deep rich red hue, super moist and coupled with the cream cheese frosting  it was a marriage made in heaven! It did not disappoint and I could easily see why this was a fan favorite.

Chocolate Cupcake

I love chocolate and was looking forward to trying the Chocolate with Chocolate Frosting. It was a moist cake but not too sweet. That may have been a good thing for some chocolate lovers but for me, its taste fell short of my expectations. It wasn’t as chocolate-y sweet as I would have liked and I was a bit disappointed. In addition, of the five cupcakes I purchased, this was the only one that was not “perfect” and perhaps that was the reason why it wasn’t in the display case? Taste is everything to me and this one was just okay.

Strawberry Cupcake

The Strawberry with Cream Cheese Frosting was a nice surprise for me. Its cake color reminded me of a pinky red watermelon. The cake had a nice strawberry essence to it and I’m glad they paired it with the cream cheese frosting instead of a vanilla buttercream; the cream cheese was perfect with it. This would be great with a strawberry garnish on top or strawberry sauce with chunks of fresh strawberries drizzled on top to really dress it up and bring out the strawberry flavor!

Carrot Cake

Lastly, the Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting blew me away. Wow! And I loved the candied carrot garnish on top. Super moist, with sun dried and golden raisins (or was it pineapple?).  I couldn’t tell but it really didn’t matter. It added the right touch of sweetness to the cake. It was a perfect combination and before I knew it, I ate the whole cupcake by myself!

If I were to rate all five cupcakes in order of my palate preference, it would look like this:

  • Red Velvet
  • Carrot Cake
  • Coconut
  • Strawberry
  • Chocolate

Auntie Em’s took care of my sweet tooth and I really enjoyed each and every cupcake. I highly recommend these moist and flavorful little cakes with loads and loads of frosting goodness!

AUNTIE EM’S KITCHEN
4616 Eagle Rock Boulevard
Los Angeles, California  90041
Phone: 323.255.0800
Website: http://www.auntieemskitchen.com

One thought on “IT’S ALL ABOUT THE CUPCAKES: AUNTIE EM’S KITCHEN

  1. Best kept secret place! I’ve used them for catering parties and just dropping by for breakfast or lunch. Cupcakes are delicious – if you stop by in the morning, try the lemon scones hot from the oven. They’re scrumptious!!

Leave a Reply

