Exploring My Inner Asian / Los Angeles County

TOKYO WAKO – Ontario, CA

DSCN3533

I joined the Parent Association of University of California Riverside and the first meeting of the school year was held last weekend (Saturday, November 7). I wasn’t too thrilled about having to get up early on a Saturday morning to make the hour plus drive to Riverside for a three hour meeting. That being said, it was worth it because after the meeting, I would be seeing my youngest son Nick who is a Freshman at UC Riverside. I knew I wouldn’t see Nick again until Thanksgiving so I was really looking forward to our visit.

I made the solo trip to Riverside and enjoyed a cranberry scone and coffee while listening to the various speakers present on various topics. They had a big turnout, a majority of the attendees were Freshman parents. After the meeting, I made the short drive over to the Pentland Hills dorms to see Nick. We ended up driving over to Ontario Mills, a large shopping outlet about 50 minutes east of Downtown Los Angeles and about 20 minutes from the UC Riverside campus. We were only going to run a few errands and then have lunch. We ended up not only running the errands, but went on a shopping spree (I scored on a chocolate brown Coach purse; they were having a big sale and just about everything was an additional 30-50% off!) and completely forgone lunch and went right into an early dinner at nearby Tokyo Wako.

I thought Tokyo Wako would be a fast food type of Japanese restaurant when I had looked it up on my “Around Me” app on my iPhone. I was pleasantly surprised. It’s a cross between an upscale Japanese restaurant and Benihana. They also have a very diverse menu and offer a dinner and teppan menu.

DSCN3535

Nick and I ordered the Alaskan King Crab Roll–Alaskan king crab meat and avocado topped with seared salmon, smelt egg, scallion and served over a bed of mayo and eel sauce; the 13-piece Assorted Sashimi as well as Deep Fried Oysters (served with sweet and sour sauce; I thought it would have been better with Ponzu sauce) and Beef Fried Rice to share. Since I had to make the long drive home afterwards, I stuck to hot green tea (I picked up an Eggnog Latte at Starbucks on the way home).

DSCN3544

DSCN3549

DSCN3553

DSCN3546

We enjoyed our meal but more importantly, I enjoyed my time with my son. If you ever decide to make the trek out to Ontario Mills for outlet shopping and want to indulge in Japanese fare, then I highly recommend Tokyo Wako. Next time, we’ll try the Teppan Grill.

TOKYO WAKO
4472 East Ontario Mills Parkway
Ontario, California  91764
909.484.7200

Leave a Reply

