Afternoon Tea/Coffee

Passion for Tea

From my personal teacup collection: English Fine Bone China MY FIRST TEA EXPERIENCE. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve been drinking tea. As far as I can remember, we always had a pot of Lipton tea for breakfast which my mother made in the glass pyrex teapot, with the teabags still steeping in the hot water. I always added sugar in my tea and sometimes lemon and could always count on having tea every morning. My earliest memory of ice tea was the instant Lipton Lemon Ice Tea mix. You add scoops of this powder stuff to cold water, add ice and voila! Iced Tea. A bit on the sweet side, this was how I drank ice tea for many years until I was in college. Not sure when I stumbled upon brewed iced tea (vs. instant) but over time, developed a taste for it without having to add sugar.

AFTERNOON TEA. I don’t remember when I started to partake in the ritual of Afternoon Tea but I loved the idea of sipping hot tea, accompanied by delicate tea sandwiches, scones, and petit desserts. I have a group of friends who also share a love for afternoon tea and it became a ritual for us to get together over afternoon tea and catch up with one another. Together we discovered and experienced the best tea places in Los Angeles and found that there were others like us who also enjoyed the experience of gathering over tea.

We learned early on that you have to have a reservation if planning an afternoon tea get together. It’s very popular, especially during holidays and when celebrating a special occasion (bridal showers, baby showers, birthdays, etc.). We tried to find hotels and standalone tea houses that would serve afternoon tea. Our favorites included: The Peninsula Hotel in Beverly Hills, The Huntington in Pasadena, Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills, Paddington Bear in Beverly Hills, The Gilded Rose in Northridge/Granada Hills, Ritz-Carlton in Laguna Niguel and Pasadena. We had such a love of tea that we even threw our own tea parties in celebration of our own special occasions. We also have our own teapot, tea cup and tea collections at home! The teacup above is English Fine Bone China by Paragon which I picked up while spending the weekend with my friend Katie who lives south of Boston. We spent the day in Nantucket and we stopped at this charming antique store where I picked up this tea cup for a song.

Look out for more posts on my passion for everything tea!

Leave a Reply

