Random Musings

FRESH WATERMELON…IN A GLASS!

I was surfing the Foodbuzz website, a site dedicated to dedicated food bloggers who are passionate about food! I love checking out Foodbuzz’s  “Today’s Top 9” and what always draws me in are the beautiful photographs that make me want to head straight to the kitchen and replicate the beautiful dishes being featured. On this particular day, my eyes were quickly drawn to Jacob Kitchen’s post on Watermelon Aguas Frescas. I love Aguas Frescas. I first tried it at St. Elisabeth’s Annual May Festival where both of my boys had gone to school during their elementary/junior high years. And every year I attended, I would always enjoy several cups of this sweet watermelon drink. I never tried making it before but always thought it would be easy to make. And after reading Jacob’s post, I realized I could have been making it in my own home to enjoy all year round, instead of waiting once a year. And it was the perfect day to make the drink–the temperature was in the high 80′s that day and I was so looking forward to taking that first sip!

The key ingredient, obviously, is watermelon and I picked up a ripe, medium watermelon from my local grocery store. The rest of the ingredients called for sugar, lime, and mint. I cubed half of the watermelon (I got the seedless kind), filled up my blender and added about 2 cups of cold water. I blended it until smooth and then added about 1/3 cup of sugar and the juice of one lime.  You can adjusting the amount of sugar you put in, depending on how sweet the watermelon is. You can always add more to your liking and for me, I didn’t want it too sweet. Same goes for the lime. Once everything is blended, you’ll need to strain the pulp from the juice so that all you are left with is the beautiful, bright, red juice. I made two batches from the watermelon half to fill my pitcher and put the juice in the refrigerator to chill for at least an hour.

I served my Watermelon Aguas Frescas in tall ice tea glasses and added a couple cubes of fresh watermelon and garnished with a small lime wedge for color (my local grocery did not have mint unfortunately). And, if you want to enjoy your Watermelon Aguas Frescas another way, you can add fresh lemonade to it for a watermelon flavored lemonade! Absolutely refreshing and delish! I’m now thinking of making up a batch and using the juice to make Watermelon Margaritas! LOL!

A shout out to Jacob’s Kitchen for the recipe. Check out his blog–if you love to bake and love fresh fruit, you’ll find his site absolutely amazing!

Leave a Reply

